How to Change Units in Photoshop

For various jobs, you might need to use multiple measuring scales in Photoshop. For instance, some tasks might require you to work in millimeters or inches, while others would benefit from working in pixels.

Knowing how to change your measurement units in Photoshop is an important step to learn. Adobe Photoshop has seven different types of units. The types of units are as follows. 

  • Pixels
  • Inches
  • Centimeters
  • Millimeters
  • Points
  • Picas (1 pica = 12 points)
  • Percent

My name is Aly, and I am Adobe Photoshop certified. From my experience working with Photoshop over the years, I can tell you that you will need to change the file unit at some point since you will not always find that working in one unit of measurement is the best for certain projects you may have. 

In this tutorial, I will show you how to change the type of units to measure different projects in Adobe Photoshop. 

Table of Contents [show]

How to Change Units in Photoshop

Units are essential to the project you are working on because, without the right units, you may have issues figuring out the correct forms of measurement. 

Step 1: To begin, select Photoshop > Preferences from the menu at the top of the screen to set the preferred unit your projects will use by default. The Preferences pop-up window will then show up. Click Units & Rulers.

Step 2: After you have clicked on the Units & Rulers option, a box dialog will open and will look like the image below. You can decide which unit type best fits your project by clicking on the dropdown menu below the rulers and type options. 

For example, you can change px to mm in Photoshop. Once you’ve chosen your desired unit of measurement, click OK and your selection will be saved. Now you will be working in the selected unit. 

Please note that changing this parameter will not affect the actual canvas size of your project. Instead, it will only alter the tools’ unit of measurement and the units used to measure the size.

Share this content: